Canine Chic

Hunt down some fetching elements for your home and watch Fido wag his tail nonstop


Published:

1. Fabric Finery

Let these fashionable, Fido-approved fabrics and wallpapers transform your sofa, window, or wall. 1. Lee Jofa Mulberry Home Kennel Club Natural linen, price upon request, Kravet, Lee Jofa, Brunschwig & Fils, Michigan Design Center, Troy; 248-649-3020, leejofa.com. 2. Brunschwig & Fils On Point Red wallpaper, price upon request, Kravet, Lee Jofa, Brunschwig & Fils, Michigan Design Center, brunschwig.com. 3. Hanley plaid by Ralph Lauren in navy/hunter, Calico Corners stores, calicocorners.com. 4. Gold Greyhound toile by Jane Walker, prices vary, printed in variety of fabrics, spoonflower.com. 5. Diamond Dogs in black, price upon request, Schumacher, Michigan Design Center, Troy; 248-649-4941, schumacher.com.


2. Shelf Life

Stalwart and sophisticated, this vintage Staffordshire dog channels Downton Abbey to a T. A history lesson: Staffordshire pottery is pottery produced in the Staffordshire potteries area of the United Kingdom. This has been a significant pottery-producing area for centuries. The Staffordshire region has plenty of clay, lead, salt, and coal, which made it a perfect place for pottery production. $175, Jayson Home, jaysonhome.com.


3. Pet Pouch

In 1895, Henri Bendel opened his first store and, for more than a century, his iconic brown- and white-striped Bendel shopping bags have been spotted swinging from the arms of stylish women around the world, with or without a dog in tow. This chic Bendel carryall is one you and your canine are sure to covet. Small puppy tote in signature print, $295, Henri Bendel, Somerset Collection North, Troy; 248-816-2021. henribendel.com.


4. Pillow Talk

Leave these adorable accessories with playful panache out in the open. From left to right: Crypton Flux bed in copper, price upon request, Bright Ideas, Royal Oak; 248-541-9940, brightideasfurniture.com. Baxter Bed Linens dog pillow, $45, Neiman Marcus, Somerset Collection South, Troy; 248-643-3300, neimanmarcus.com. Harry Barker toile toy, $8-$10, harrybarker.com.


5. Et Cetera

Turn any space into a bone-afied dog gallery with artful additions. From top to bottom: Greyhound Fencer digital illustration, $22, LoopyLolly via Etsy, etsy.com/uk/shop/loopylolly. Dog Walk mini collection Dachshund art by Dolan Geiman, $250, The Artisan’s Bench, Brighton; 810-227-4751. The Pheasant Hunt handwoven tapestry, $6,875, The Ghiordes Knot at Michigan Design Center, 248-649 4770. Dog head hooks, $34/ea., Ballard Designs, ballarddesigns.com.




6. Desk Top

Drop a line, sort your mail, or decorate your desk with a bevy of fetching finds. Assorted dog notecards, $18.50/box, Paper Source, Birmingham; 248-594-4954, paper-source.com. Dachshund letter holder, $32, area Anthropologie stores, anthropologie.com. Jonathan Adler Dachshund in midnight glaze, $88, Scout, Royal Oak, 248-548-1065.




7. In The Dining Room

Kitschy bowls and napkins make any mealtime or cocktail hour all the merrier! The Dog Days cocktail napkin, $8, is all-cotton and 8 inches square. Shown here is “tangerine” (comes in four fun-loving colors/dog motifs) at Anthropologie stores, anthropologie.com. Soup bowls, $38/set of four, are hand-glazed (great for ice cream, too!), at Uncommon Goods, uncommongoods.com.


Dog Digs

Got pets? Don’t compromise your approach to good design.

Your dog is your best friend, and rightly so. Dogs eagerly snuggle, lick you, and leap into your arms the minute you come home. But what they need in their home doesn’t always mesh with your vision of a living space — think squeaky toys and discarded rawhide amidst Dhurrie rugs and antique chaises. So how do you and your best friend compromise?

It’s easy, says Margaret Presti of Margeaux Interiors in Birmingham. “Use hardwood flooring — hand-scraped and with matte finishes — and tile as a starting point.” By avoiding carpets in heavy traffic areas you’ll eliminate hair, bacteria, and countless stains, reducing anxiety and creating appeal.

Order, too, is paramount. Put food and treats in hidden bins, store toys in elegant containers, and hang accessories on stylish hooks. Today, many kitchen cabinetry companies build pet-food bins right into their design schemes.

The fundamental rule, says Randy Rubin, co-owner of West Bloomfield-based Crypton Fabrics, is to work with what you’ve got. “You don’t have to compromise your design preferences just because you have pets,” she says. “Fashionable, performance-driven items such as stain- and moisture-resistant pet beds help maintain the integrity of any residential design.”

Finding one-of-a-kind-items that work with your canine cohorts will ultimately create inviting, personalized decor. So whether you toss a toile bed in your kitchen, put a modern doghouse in your den, or mount a replica of Fido over your fireplace, you’ll be presenting a united front.

Edit Module
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags

Hour Media Publications

Edit Module
Edit Module

E-Newsletter Sign-up

Edit Module