2009 Best of the Good Life

We all strive for our share of living well. It starts with squeezing in a bit of down time between career demands and honey-do obligations. For domestic types, sprucing up the home is more leisure pastime than chore. In that pursuit, consider the winners of the 2009 Best of the Good Life as a step toward living well — at home.



Published:

 

Best Place to Outfit a Kitchen: (TIE)

Beaver Tile & Stone, Farmington Hills; 248-476-2333, Troy (Michigan Design Center); 248-649-5552, Shelby Township; 586-991-0780, beavertileandstone.com.

Extraordinary Works by EW Kitchens, Wixom; 248-669-1300, Troy (at Michigan Design Center); 248-649-0500, ewkitchens.com.

 

Best Place to Buy Kitchen Appliances:

Hawthorne Appliance, Birmingham; 248-644-2200, Rochester; 248-299-4800; hawthorneonlinestore.com.

 

Best Art Gallery:

TRA Art Group, Troy (at Michigan Design Center); 248-816-1691, traartgroup.com, michigandesign.com.

 

Best Place to Buy Landscape Plants:

English Gardens, seven locations; englishgardens.com.

 

Best Place to Buy a Couch:

Quatrine, Birmingham; 248-644-4705, quatrine.com.

 

Best Source for Garden Furnishings:

Detroit Garden Works, Sylvan Lake; 248-335-8089, detroitgardenworks.com.

 

Best Decor Trend:

Less is more.

 

 

 

Best Landscape Designer:

Michael J. Dul & Associates, Birmingham; 248-644-3410.

 

Best Place for Retirement Living:

Birmingham

 

Best Community for a First Home:

Royal Oak

 

Best Area for a Vacation Home:

Northwest Lower Peninsula

 

Best Town for Garage Sales: (TIE)

Grosse Pointe and Birmingham

 

Best Downtown Shopping District:

Birmingham

 

Best Place for Penthouse Living:

The Willits, Birmingham.

 

Best Place to Stock Your Liquor Cabinet:

Holiday Market, Royal Oak; 248-541-1414, holiday-market.com.

 

Best Loft Building: (TIE)

400 Parent Avenue, Royal Oak; 400parent.com.

Willys Overland Lofts, Detroit; willysoverlandlofts.com.

 

Area Ready for Rediscovery:

Various Detroit Neighborhoods

 

 

 

Best Place to Stock Your Wine Cellar:

Trader Joe’s, Ann Arbor, Farmington Hills, Grosse Pointe, Northville, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak; traderjoes.com.

 

Best Place to Shop for a Dinner Party:

Papa Joe’s Gourmet Market, Birmingham; 248-723-9400, Rochester Hills; 248-853-6263, papajoesmarket.com.

 

Best Place to Aspire to:

Birmingham

 

Best Hardware Store:

Russell Hardware Co., Bloomfield Hills; 248-644-0100, Harbor Springs; 231-526-8900, russellhardware.com.

 

Best Place to Outfit a Bath:

Herald Wholesale, Oak Park; 248-398-4560, heraldwholesale.com.

 

Best Place for Kitchenware:

Williams-Sonoma, Ann Arbor, Novi, Rochester Hills, Troy; williams-sonoma.com.

 

Best Store for High-end Furniture:

Birmingham Design Studio, Birmingham; 248-723-8888, birminghamdesignstudio.com.

 

Best Antiques Store:

Judy Frankel at the Antiques Centre of Troy, Troy; 248-649-4399, judyfrankelantiques.com.

 

Best Place for Office Furnishings:

Michigan Design Center, Troy; 248-649-4772, michigandesign.com.

 

Best Place to Buy an Area Rug:

Hagopian, Birmingham, Novi, Oak Park (outlet); originalhagopian.com.

 

Best Place to Buy a Mattress:

Art Van stores, artvan.com.

 

 

 

Best Store for Affordable Furniture:

IKEA, Canton Township; 734-981-6300, ikea.com.

 

Best Architect:

Alexander V. Bogaerts & Associates, Bloomfield Hills; 248-334-5000, bogaerts.us.

 

Best Place to Buy Electronics and Home Theater Components: 

Best Buy, bestbuy.com.

 

Best Designer:

Richard Ross Designs, Royal Oak; 248-544-9957.

 

Best Place to Shop for Rec Room Furnishings:

Art Van stores, artvan.com.

 

Place for a Bargain:

Home Goods, homegoods.com.

 

Place to Buy Plumbing Fixtures:

Russell Hardware Co., Bloomfield Hills; 248-644-0100, Harbor Springs;  231-526-8900, russellhardware.com.

 

Best Flea Market:

Royal Oak, (Sundays at the Farmers Market).

 

Best Place to Buy a Light Fixture:

Brose Electric, Clarkston; 248-623-7900, broseelectric.com.

Hour Media Publications

E-Newsletter Sign-up