Best of Detroit Home 2019

Our online readers’ poll reveals who’s at the top of the list when it comes to home maintenance, design, and more. Here, we present dozens of favorites. // Photos by Martin Vecchio
Best of Detroit Home 2019

We asked and you responded! Our online readers’ poll reveals who’s at the top of the list when it comes to everything from garden art to doors to granite — and all things in between. Here, we present dozens of favorites!

Photos by Martin Vecchio

Places to Buy | Services


Necessities

A great interior requires stylish wall treatments and sharp, on-trend builders

INTERIOR ART: The Art of Custom Framing, Troy

Not just a frame shop but also a fine art gallery, The Art of Custom Framing offers design and fine art consultation, original and limited-edition artwork, and more. Shown at far left is owner Art Bashi. framingart.net

WALLPAPER: The Detroit Wallpaper Co., Ferndale

Specializing in custom wallpaper, The Detroit Wallpaper Co. takes a unique approach to design and manufacturing, turning out fascinating patterns and colors, with an accent on sustainability. detroitwallpaper.com

PAINT: Sherwin-Williams, multiple locations

Paints, stains, colors galore, and lots of supplies — that’s what this iconic paint company offers, in addition to providing top-notch service at its stores. Every paint palette is chock-full of personality, and there’s a color for everyone. sherwin-williams.com

CARPENTER: Detroit Build, Royal Oak

Detroit Build’s step-by-step system ensures clients will not only receive a renovation they’re proud of, but will also see an increase in the value of their home, whether it’s damaged property or a space that needs a refresher. detroitbuild.com


PLACES TO BUY

ANTIQUES
Knightsbridge Antique Mall | Northville | (248) 344-7200

APPLIANCES
Sargent Appliance | Clinton Township, Macomb, Rochester | (800) 440-5774 | sargentappliance.com

ART, EXTERIOR
Detroit Garden Works | Sylvan Lake | (248) 335-8089 | detroitgardenworks.com

ART, INTERIOR
The Art of Custom Framing | Troy | (248) 435-3726 | framingart.net

AUDIO/STEREO (TIE)
SoundCheck Inc. | Southfield | (248) 440-5996 | soundcheckinc.com

Spire Integrated Systems | Traverse City | (231) 944-6229 | Troy | (248) 544-0072 | spireintegrated.com

AWNINGS (TIE)
Belle Isle Awning | Warren | (586) 294-6050 | belleisleawning.com

Marygrove Awnings | Livonia | (734) 250-9069 | marygrove.com

BATH FIXTURES 
Advance Plumbing & Heating Supply Co. | Detroit | (313) 831-7770
Walled Lake | (248) 669-7474 | advanceplumbing.com

BEDDING (TIE)
Cristions Fine Linen & Down | Birmingham | (248) 723-3337 | cristions.wordpress.com

Scott Shuptrine Interiors | Multiple locations | (248) 549-9105 |
artvan.com/scott-shuptrine-interiors

BILLIARD TABLES/ACCESSORIES
SoundCheck Inc. | Southfield | (248) 440-5996 | soundcheckinc.com

BLINDS (TIE)
House of Blinds | Bloomfield Hills | (877) 439-4949

Scott Shuptrine Interiors | Multiple locations | (248) 549-9105 |
artvan.com/scott-shuptrine-interiors

BRICK & STONE
Ciot | Troy | (248) 288-8888 | ciot.com

CABINETRY
Maison Birmingham | Birmingham | (248) 203-6006 | maisonbirmingham.com

CARPETING
Northern Flooring & Interiors | Lake Orion | (248) 282-3992 | nflooring.com

CEILING FANS (TIE)
Ferguson Bath, Kitchen & Lighting Gallery | Multiple locations | (800) 638-8875 | fergusonshowrooms.com

Lighting Resource Studio | Michigan Design Center | Troy | (248) 649-9311 | michigandesign.com

CONTEMPORARY FURNITURE
Single Location
Leon & Lulu | Clawson | (248) 288-3600 | leonandlulu.com

Multiple Locations (tie)
Gorman’s Home Furnishings & Interior Design | Southfield | (877) 352-5100 | gormans.com

Scott Shuptrine Interiors | Multiple locations | (248) 549-9105 |
artvan.com/scott-shuptrine-interiors

COUNTERTOPS (TIE)
Ciot | Troy | (248) 288-8888 | ciot.com

Motor City Granite | Lake Orion | (844) 686-7527 | motorcitygranite.com

DOORS 
Door Doctor Services Inc. | Multiple locations | (800) 714-DOOR (3667) | doordrservices.com

FABRIC (TIE)
Haberman Fabrics | Clawson | (248) 541-0010 | habermanfabrics.com

Michigan Design Center | Multiple showrooms | Troy | (248) 649-4772 | michigandesign.com

FIREPLACE
American Fireplace & Barbecue | Ferndale | (248) 547-6777 | americanfireplace.net

FITNESS EQUIPMENT/ACCESSORIES
Peloton | Troy | (248) 215-0094 | onepeloton.com

FLOORING (TIE)
Northern Flooring & Interiors | Lake Orion | (248) 282-3992 | nflooring.com

Virginia Tile Co. | Multiple locations | (734) 762-2400 | virginiatile.com

GARAGE DOORS
KSK Garage Doors | Highland | (248) 330-8780 | kskgaragedoor.com

GENERATORS
Weingartz | Multiple locations | weingartz.com

GRANITE/MARBLE (TIE)
Ciot | Troy | (248) 288-8888 | ciot.com

PMP Marble & Granite | Troy | (248) 740-1400 | pmpmarble.com

HARDWARE
Russell Hardware Co. | Bloomfield Hills | (248) 644-0100 | russellhardware.com

HOME ACCESSORIES
Leon & Lulu | Clawson | (248) 288-3600 | leonandlulu.com

KITCHEN ACCESSORIES
Single Location
Leon & Lulu | Clawson | (248) 288-3600 | leonandlulu.com

Chain
Bed Bath & Beyond | Multiple locations | (800) 462-3966 | bedbathandbeyond.com

LIGHTING
Single Location (tie)
Lighting Resource Studio | Troy | (248) 649-9311 | michigandesign.com

Pine Tree Furniture & Lighting | Lake Orion | (248) 693-6248 | pinetreelighting.com

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS (TIE)
Michigan Chandelier Co. | Novi, Rochester, Southfield, Troy | michand.com

Ray Lighting | Novi | (248) 449-4500 | Sterling Heights | (586) 739-9700 |
Troy | (248) 585-1400 | raylightingcenters.com


Ben WidmanHave Hammer, Will Travel

Give them a task and watch them get it done! Honey Done List can do just about anything to make homeowners happy.

HANDYMAN: Honey Done List, Beverly Hills

At times, you can’t get it all done. That’s when it’s time to call Ben Widman (shown here),  handyman extraordinaire. (248) 321-9486


MATTRESSES
Art Van PureSleep | Multiple locations | artvan.com

NURSERY/GARDEN SUPPLIES (TIE)
Bordines | Brighton, Clarkston, Grand Blanc, Rochester Hills | bordines.com

English Gardens | Multiple locations | (800) 335-GROW (4769) | englishgardens.com

OFFICE FURNITURE (TIE)
Gorman’s Home Furnishings & Interior Design | Multiple locations | (877) 352-5100 | gormans.com

MarxModa | Detroit, Flint, Lansing | (855) 242-9292 | marxmoda.com

OUTDOOR FURNITURE
Single Location
Ash Showroom | Bloomfield Hills | (248) 462-7089 | ashshowroom.com

Multiple Locations (tie)
Gorman’s Home Furnishings & Interior Design | Multiple locations | (877) 352-5100 | gormans.com

Scott Shuptrine Interiors | Multiple locations | (248) 549-9105 |
artvan.com/scott-shuptrine-interiors

OUTDOOR KITCHEN
Sharer Design Group | Plymouth | (734) 582-9660 | sharerdesigngroup.com

OUTDOOR LIGHTING
Spire Integrated Systems | Traverse City | (231) 944-6229 | Troy | (248) 544-0072 | spireintegrated.com

OUTDOOR SPECIALTY STRUCTURES (GAZEBOS, PERGOLAS, ETC.)
Preservation & Renovation | Berkley | (586) 980-7662

PAINT
Sherwin-Williams | Multiple locations | sherwin-williams.com

PET SUPPLIES
Premier Pet Supply | Multiple locations | premierpetsupply.com

RUGS
Hagopian World of Rugs | Multiple locations | (800) 424-6742 | originalhagopian.com

SIDING
Bolyard Lumber | Ann Arbor, Birmingham, Rochester | bolyardlumber.com

TILE
Virginia Tile Co. | Multiple locations | (734) 762-2400 | virginiatile.com

TRADITIONAL FURNITURE 
Single Location
Baker Furniture | Michigan Design Center | Troy | (248) 649-6730 | michigandesign.com

Multiple Locations
Scott Shuptrine Interiors | Multiple locations | (248) 549-9105 |
artvan.com/scott-shuptrine-interiors

WALLPAPER (TIE)
The Detroit Wallpaper Co. | Ferndale | (248) 544-1054 | detroitwallpaper.com

Michigan Design Center | Multiple showrooms | Troy | (248) 649-4772 | michigandesign.com

WINDOW TREATMENTS
Decoroom | Troy (Michigan Design Center) | (248) 643-4300 | Utica | (586) 731-2200 | decoroom.biz

WINDOWS
Pella Window and Door Showroom of Plymouth | Plymouth | (734) 414-6050 | pella.com

WINE
Old Woodward Cellar | Birmingham | (248) 792-5452 | oldwoodwardcellar.com


SERVICES

ACCESSIBILITY DESIGNER/BUILDER
PRM Custom Builders | Bloomfield Township | (248) 240-3051 | prmcustombuilders.com

AIR QUALITY MAINTENANCE
Safety King Inc. | Utica | (586) 480-1836 | safetyking.com

APPRAISER (TIE)
Class Valuation | Troy | (866) 333-8311 | classvaluation.com

Brick Kicker | (248) 659-8043 | brickkicker.com/metrodetroit/

ARBORIST/TREE SERVICES (TIE) 
Davey Tree | Multiple locations | (800) 445-8733 | (866) 522-6330 | davey.com

Westside Forestry | Novi | (248) 349-4636 | westsideforestry.com

BAR DESIGN/BUILD
Whiski Kitchen Design Studio | Royal Oak | (248) 629-0058 | whiski-kitchen.com

BASEMENT FINISHING 
Maison Birmingham | Birmingham | (248) 203-6006 | maisonbirmingham.com

BASEMENT WATERPROOFING (TIE)
B-Dry | Multiple locations | (888) 779-2379 | bdry.com

Everdry Waterproofing | Sterling Heights | (586) 698-3030 | everdrymichigan.com

BATH DESIGN FIRM/COMPANY 
Maison Birmingham | Birmingham | (248) 203-6006 | maisonbirmingham.com

CABINETRY DESIGN/INSTALLATION (TIE)
Maison Birmingham | Birmingham | (248) 203-6006 | maisonbirmingham.com

Perspectives Cabinetry | Troy | (248) 288-4100 | perspectivescabinetry.com

Whiski Kitchen Design Studio | Royal Oak | (248) 629-0058 | whiski-kitchen.com

CARPENTER (TIE)
Detroit Build | Royal Oak | (248) 677-0551 | detroitbuild.com

Preservation & Renovation | Berkley | (586) 980-7662

CARPET CLEANING (TIE)
Chet’s Cleaning | Madison Heights | (248) 206-3444 | chetscleaning.com

Hagopian Cleaning Services | Oak Park | (800) 424-6742 | originalhagopian.com


Artwork and FramingIt’s in the Details

Set your sights on good lighting, gorgeous fabric, and art with quality framing

CUSTOM FRAMING: The Art of Custom Framing, Troy

Not just a frame shop but also a fine art gallery, The Art of Custom Framing offers design and fine art consultation, original and limited-edition artwork, and more. framingart.net

FABRIC: Haberman Fabrics, Clawson

Fantastic, unique fabrics that fit any budget await at Haberman Fabrics. Bonus: talented staff can guide you in making perfect fabric choices for your home décor. habermanfabrics.com

LIGHTING: Pine Tree Furniture & Lighting, Lake Orion

Beautiful modern lighting for every room in your home, from foyer chandeliers to bathroom vanity sconces and more. pinetreelighting.com


CHIMNEY SWEEP
CJW & Associates Chimney Sweep | Holly | (248) 681-9532 | chimneyrecovery.com

CLOSET DESIGN/ORGANIZATIONAL SYSTEM
Single Location
EuroAmerica Design | Troy | (248) 649-8950 | euroamericadesign.com

Chain
California Closets | Birmingham | (248) 301-2160 | californiaclosets.com

COMMERCIAL ARCHITECT (TIE)
Kevin Hart & Associates | Birmingham | (248) 642-9427 | kevinhartassociates.com

McIntosh Poris Associates | Birmingham, Detroit | (248) 258-9346 | mcintoshporis.com

CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
Detroit Build | Royal Oak | (248) 677-0551 | detroitbuild.com

CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECT
Studio Z Architecture | Plymouth | (734) 394-9400 | studiozarch.com

CUSTOM FRAMING
The Art of Custom Framing | Troy | (248) 435-3726 | framingart.net

CUSTOM FURNITURE DESIGNER
Vogue Furniture | Royal Oak | (248) 288-1500 | voguefurniture.net

CUSTOM HOME BUILDER
LUXE Homes Design + Build | Birmingham | (248) 686-1889 | luxehomesdesignbuild.com

DISASTER RECOVERY SERVICE
SERVPRO | Multiple locations | (248) 439-1160 | servpro.com

DOCK INSTALLATION/REMOVAL 
Pier Michigan Dock & Lift | Keego Harbor | (248) 303-9215 | piermi.com

DUCT CLEANING
Safety King | Utica | (586) 580-4355 | safetyking.com

ELECTRICIAN (TIE)
Diversified Electric, LLC | Ferndale | (248) 925-2379 | diversifiedelectric.biz

Waske Electric Inc. | Lake Orion | (248) 892-0907

ENERGY COMPANY
DTE | (800) 477-4747; (800) 482-8720 | dteenergy.com

FENCE/GATE DESIGN
Michael J. Dul & Associates | Birmingham | (248) 644-3410 | mjdul.com

FERTILIZATION LAWN/TREE
Top Lawn | Commerce Township | (248) 560-4727 | toplawn.com

FLORIST
Blossoms | Birmingham | (248) 644-4411 | Detroit | (313) 447-1919 | blossomsbirmingham.com

FURNITURE REFINISHING/RESTORATION
Martin Furniture Refinishers | Walled Lake | (248) 624-3080 | martinfurniturestore.com

GUTTER CLEANING
Livingston Gutter Inc. | Howell | (517) 548-0134 | livingstongutter.com

HANDYMAN
Ben Widman/Honey Done List | Beverly Hills | (248) 321-9486

HEATING AND COOLING SPECIALIST (TIE)
Family Heating, Cooling & Electrical | East & North Woodward | (248) 548-9565 |
North Oakland County | (248) 886-8626
West & Downriver | (734) 422-8080 | familyheating.com

Randazzo Heating & Cooling | Macomb | (844) 220-6255 | callrandazzo.com

HOME INSPECTOR
Homeward Bound Home Inspections | Waterford Township | (800) 228-8865 | homewardboundhomeinspection.com

HOME INSURANCE REPRESENTATIVE
Smith Insurance Group | Allen Park | (313) 278-3800 | getsmithinsurance.com

HOME MORTGAGE LOANS (TIE)
Chemical Bank | Multiple locations | (800) 867-9757 | chemicalbank.com

Quicken Loans | Multiple locations | (800) 251-9080 | quickenloans.com

HOME SECURITY
SoundCheck Inc. | Southfield | (248) 440-5996 | soundcheckinc.com

HOME THEATER/AUDIO/VIDEO SPECIALIST (TIE)
SoundCheck Inc. | Southfield | (248) 440-5996 | soundcheckinc.com

Spire Integrated Systems | Traverse City | (231) 944-6229 | Troy | (248) 544-0072 | spireintegrated.com

INSULATION SPECIALIST
Energy Shield Inc. | Pontiac | (248) 332-2910 | energyshield.net

IRRIGATION/SPRINKLER INSTALLATION
Michigan Irrigation | Warren | (586) 978-0430 | michiganirrigation.com

JUNK REMOVAL
1-800-GOT-JUNK? | (800) 468-5865 | 1800gotjunk.com

KITCHEN DESIGN FIRM/COMPANY
KSI | Multiple locations | ksikitchens.com

LANDSCAPE DESIGNER/ARCHITECT 
Michael J. Dul & Associates | Birmingham | (248) 644-3410 | mjdul.com

LAWN MAINTENANCE/SNOW REMOVAL
Marino’s Landscape | Shelby Township | (586) 803-3860 | marinoslandscape.com

LEED SPECIALIST
Newman Consulting Group, LLC | (248) 626-4910 | newmanconsultinggroup.us

LOCKSMITH
Birmingham Locksmith Services | Birmingham | (248) 644-7939 | birminghamlocksmithservice.com


Comfort Cues - Best of Detroit Home 2019Comfort Cues

Cozy up with the best in beds, mattresses, pillows, and rugs

SEAMSTRESS, DRAPERY/ACCENT PILLOWS: DesignsDesigns, Ltd., Wixom

Ask just about any interior designer in the area about quality sewing and they’ll share that DesignsDesigns, Ltd. ranks top on their list. Quality with a capital Q. (248) 669-9696

MATTRESSES: Art Van PureSleep, Multiple Locations

Memory foam, adjustable power bases, hybrid mattresses … whatever it takes for a good night’s sleep, Art Van PureSleep has it. artvan.com

CONTEMPORARY FURNITURE: Scott Shuptrine Interiors, Multiple locations

Synonymous with luxury, Scott Shuptrine Interiors offers an exclusive, premium level of home furnishings for discerning design enthusiasts. artvan.com/scott-shuptrine-interiors

RUGS: Hagopian World of Rugs, Multiple Locations

An emporium of beauty since 1939, Hagopian World of Rugs is dedicated to quality merchandise and service. With many long-term employees, their emphasis has always been on integrity. originalhagopian.com


MILLWORK SPECIALIST
Ganas Design and Manufacturing | Detroit | (313) 646-9966 | ganasmfg.com

MOVING SERVICES (TIE)
Changing Places | Waterford | (248) 674-3937 | changingplacesmovers.com

Personal Touch Moving | Oxford | (248) 431-1646 | personaltouchmoving.com

PAINTER, EXTERIOR
Somerset Painting | Multiple locations | (248) 334-7400 | somersetpainting.com

PAINTER, INTERIOR 
Trudell Custom Creations | Waterford | (248) 701-9064 | trudellcustomcreations.com

PAINTER, SPECIALTY TREATMENT
Trudell Custom Creations | Waterford | (248) 701-9064 | trudellcustomcreations.com

PARTY CATERER/EVENT PLANNERS
Plum Market | Multiple locations | plummarket.com

PARTY VALET
StarTrax Events | Ferndale | (248) 263-6300 | startrax.com

PEST CONTROL
Top Lawn | Commerce Township | (248) 560-4727 | toplawn.com

PLUMBER
Thornton & Grooms | Multiple locations | (248) 644-7810 | thorntonandgrooms.com

POOL DESIGNER/COMPANY
Anderson Custom Pools | Rochester | (248) 652-8784 | andersoncustompools.com

POOL MAINTENANCE (TIE)
Gillette Brothers Pool & Spa | Troy | (248) 362-5125 | gillettebrothers.com

Pristine Pools | Bloomfield Hills | (248) 456-0756 | pristinepoolsinc.com

REAL ESTATE ATTORNEY
Minns Law | Birmingham | (248) 792-6440 | eminnslaw.com

REALTOR/REAL ESTATE AGENT (TIE)
Alexander Real Estate | Matt O’Laughlin | Detroit | (313) 230-0510 | aredetroit.com

Jeff Glover & Associates | Birmingham, Grandville, Plymouth | (855) 533-3735 | jeffgloverassociates.com

RESTORATION SPECIALIST
Renaissance Restorations Inc. | Birmingham | (313) 585-7852 | rrestoration.com

ROOFER
Energy Shield Inc. | Pontiac | (248) 332-2910 | energyshield.net

SEAMSTRESS DRAPERY/ACCENT PILLOWS, ETC.
DesignsDesigns, Ltd. | Wixom | (248) 669-9696

SMARTHOME DESIGNER/COMPANY 
SoundCheck Inc. | Southfield | (248) 440-5996 | soundcheckinc.com

SOLAR SPECIALIST 
PowerHome Solar | Chesterfield, Grand Rapids, Troy | (800) SOLAR 15 | powerhome.com

TECH SPECIALIST
SoundCheck Inc. | Southfield | (248) 440-5996 | soundcheckinc.com

TILE DESIGN/INSTALLATION (TIE)
Pewabic Pottery | Detroit | (313) 626-2000 | pewabic.org

Virginia Tile Co. | Multiple locations | (734) 762-2400 | virginiatile.com

TRADITIONAL ARCHITECT 
VanBrouck & Associates | Birmingham | (248) 876-4233 | vanbrouck.com

UPHOLSTERER
Decoroom | Troy | (248) 643-4300 | Utica | (586) 731-2200 | decoroom.biz

WINDOW CLEANING
A Pane In the Glass | Lake Orion | (248) 648-5557 | apaneintheglass-windowcleaning.com

WINE ROOM DESIGNER/BUILDER
DesRosiers Architects | Bloomfield Hills | (248) 642-7771 | desarch.com


Marvelous Materials - Best of Detroit Home 2019Marvelous Materials

Finishings touches can make or break a project. Go with the best!

TILE: Virginia Tile Co., Multiple Locations

Stone, glass, metal, terra cotta  —  what’s your fancy? Virginia Tile Co. has it. virginiatile.com

GRANITE/MARBLE: Ciot, Troy

Ageless and natural, opaque or translucent, with visible veins or of pure white, no two slabs are ever alike, and you’re sure to find the perfect fit at Ciot. ciot.com

FLOORING: Northern Flooring & Interiors, Lake Orion

Northern Flooring & Interiors is a family-owned flooring store that’s been in business for more than 30 years. A member of the International Design Guild Alliance, the company prides itself on quality and education. nflooring.com

Facebook Comments